Earlier it was reported that 20 stations (its started with 16 then became 17, tehn 19 and now 20) in India will be made world class. The 20 stations as reported here are: Agra, Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Anand Vihar (Delhi), Bangalore, Bhopal, Bhubaneswar, Bijwasan (Delhi), Chandigarh, Chennai, Mumbai CST, Howrah, Jaipur, Lucknow, Mathura, Patna, Pune, Secunderabad, Thiruvananthapuram and Varanasi.

In case of Bhubaneswar, due to lack of land adjacent to the existing Bhubaneswar station, there was speculation and bits of news regarding a new world class station being built in Barang. The following news report from Sambada confirms it.